The nominees for the Nordic Council Film Prize have been announced

22. August 2017

The nominees for the Nordic Council Film Prize were announced tonight, at the opening of New Nordic Films during the Norwegian International Film Festival.

The five nominated films are Hunting Flies, directed by Izer Aliu from Norway, Parents, directed by Christian Tafdrup from Denmark, Little Wing, directed by Selma Vilhunen from Finland, Heartstone, directed by Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson from Iceland, and Sami Blood, directed by Amanda Kernell from Sweden. The nominations were announced by the Shame actors Iman Meskini and Tarjei Sandvik Moe.

Izer Aliu’s feature film debut Hunting Flies was awarded the director prize during this year’s Amanda Awards, for its captivating political drama portraying the rise and fall of a classroom dictatorship.

All five nominated films will be screened during the 45th Norwegian International Film Festival.

This year’s nominated films:


Director: Christian Tafdrup
Screenwriter: Christian Tafdrup
Producer: Thomas Heinesen


Little Wing
Director: Selma Vilhunen
Screenwriter: Selma Vilhunen
Producers: Kaarle Aho, Kai Nordberg



Director: Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson
Screenwriter: Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson
Producers: Anton Máni Svansson, Lise Orheim Stender, Jesper Morthorst, Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson


Hunting Flies
Director: Izer Aliu
Screenwriter: Izer Aliu
Producer: Khalid Maimouni


Sami Blood
Director: Amanda Kernell
Screenwriter: Amanda Kernell
Producer: Lars G. Lindström

About the Nordic Council Film Prize

This year the Nordic Council Film Prize is presented for the 14th time. Last year Joachim Trier won with Louder Than Bombs. He was the first Norwegian director to receive the prize. In previous years it has been won by distinctive films like Virgin Mountain (2015), Of Horses and Men (2014), The Hunt (2013), Play (2012), Beyond (2011), Submarino (2010), Antichrist (2009), You, the Living (2008), The Art of Crying (2007), Zozo (2006), Manslaughter (2005) and The Man Without a Past (2002).

In each Nordic country a national jury is nominating a film from that country to represent it. The jury consists of three members appointed by the Nordic Council of Ministers. After the five Nordic film titles have been announced, a Nordic jury starts the work of finding this year’s winner. In the Nordic jury every country is represented by one member.

This year the international jury consists of: Per Juul Carlsen (Denmark), Jaana Puskala (Finland), Emma Gray Munthe (Sweden), Silja Hauksdóttir (Iceland) and Inger Merete Hobbelstad (Norway).

The winner of the 2017 Nordic Council Film Prize will be announced on 1 November during the session of the Nordic Council in Helsinki, Finland.