The nominees for the Nordic Council Film Prize have been announced

21. August 2018

The nominees for the Nordic Council Film Prize 2018 were announced today during the Norwegian International Film Festival in Haugesund. 

The five nominated films are Thelma, directed by Joachim Trier from Norway; Winter Brothers, directed by Hlynur Pálmason from Denmark; Euthanizer, directed by Teenu Nikki from Finland; Woman at War, directed by Benedikt Erlingsson from Iceland; and Ravens, directed by Jens Assur from Sweden.

The purpose of the Nordic Council Film Prize, which is the most coveted award in the Nordic countries, is to raise interest in the Nordic cultural community as well as to recognise outstanding artistic initiatives.

All five nominated films will be screened during the 46th Norwegian International Film Festival.

This year’s nominated films:


Winter Brothers (Vinterbrødre)
Director: Hlynur Pálmason
Screenwriter: Hlynur Pálmason
Producer: Per Damgaard Hansen, Julie Waltersdorph Hansen, Anto Máni Svansson


Euthanizer (Armomurhaaja)
Director: Teemu Nikki
Screenwriter: Teemu Nikki
Producers: Teemu Nikki, Jan Pösö


Woman at War (Kona fer í stríð)
Director: Benedikt Erlingsson
Screenwriter: Benedikt Erlingsson, Ólafur Egill Egilson
Producers: Carine Leblanc, Marianne Slot


Director: Joachim Trier
Screenwriter: Joachim Trier, Eskil Vogt
Producer: Thomas Robsahm


Ravens (Korparna)
Director: Jens Assur
Screenwriter: Jens Assur
Producer: Jan Marnell, Tom Persson

About the Nordic Council Film Prize

This year the Nordic Council Film Prize is presented for the 15th time. Last year Selma Vilhunen won with Little Wing. In previous years it has been won by distinctive films like Louder Than Bombs (2016), Virgin Mountain (2015), Of Horses and Men (2014), The Hunt (2013), Play (2012), Beyond (2011), Submarino (2010), Antichrist (2009), You, the Living (2008), The Art of Crying (2007), Zozo (2006), Manslaughter (2005) and The Man Without a Past (2002).

In each Nordic country a national jury is nominating a film from that country to represent it. The jury consists of three members appointed by the Nordic Council of Ministers. After the five Nordic film titles have been announced, a Nordic jury starts the work of finding this year’s winner. In the Nordic jury every country is represented by one member.

This year the international jury consists of: Per Juul Carlsen (Denmark), Jaana Puskala (Finland), Kristina Börjeson (Sweden), Hilmar Oddsson (Iceland) og Inger Merete Hobbelstad (Norway)

The winner of the 2018 Nordic Council Film Prize will be announced on 30 October during the session of the Nordic Council in Oslo, Norway.