The Amanda Nominees 2021 

16. June 2021

The jury has now decided on this years nominees for the Amanda Award 2021. This year’s most nominated film, with eleven nominations, is Ninjababy, closely followed by Betrayed with nine nominations and Gritt with seven nominations. The jury deliberated on 23 feature films, of which were eight documentaries and seven children’s films. 

The Amanda Award is held August 21st. at Festiviteten in Haugesund. The Amanda Awards is a part of the Norwegian International Film Festival Haugesund, August 21st. – 27th. The considered films must have premiered in Norwegian theaters between July 1st. 2020 and June 30th. 2021. 


The Amanda Award will once again be a double celebration of Norwegian film! Host Odd Magnus Williamson will run the show from Haugesund – with acceptance speaches and tears of joy. The award show will be streamed live on In addition NRK will produce their own Amanda show live on NRK2 and P2, where this year’s host Mona B. Riise will comment the show with a carefully selected panel, and celebrate Norwegian film! They will comment on nominees, winners and help guide you through the past year in film, a year where we almost forgot what a theater looks like.  


Best Film 

  • «The Painter and the Thief» (director: Benjamin Ree, producer: Ingvil Giske) 
  • «Generation Utoya» (director: Aslaug Holm og Sigve Endresen, prodcer: Tore Buvarp) 
  • «Ninjababy» (director: Yngvild Sve Flikke, producer: Yngve Sæther)  


Best Director 

  • Benjamin Ree for «The Painter and the Thief» 
  • Silje Salomonsen and Arild Østin Ommundsen for «Sisters: The Summer We Found Our Superpowers» 
  • Yngvild Sve Flikke for «Ninjababy» 

Best Actor 

  • Arthur Berning for «Ninjababy» 
  • Jakob Oftebro for «Betrayed» 
  • Pål Sverre Hagen for «Diana’s Wedding » 

Best Actress 

  • Birgitte Larsen for «Gritt» 
  • Kathrine Thorborg Johansen for «Oslo – København» 
  • Kristine Kujath Thorp for «Ninjababy» 

Best Supporting Actor 

  • Nader Khademi for «Ninjababy» 
  • Dennis Storhøi for «Project Z» 
  • Michalis Koutsogiannakis for «Betrayed» 

Best Supporting Actress 

  • Pia Halvorsen for «Betrayed» 
  • Marte Magnusdotter Solem for «HIM» 
  • Marte Wexelsen Goksøyr for «Gritt» 

Best Children’s Film 

  • «Bortebane» (director: Line Hatland, producer: Ingvil Giske and Mari Monrad Vistven) 
  • «Two Buddies and a Badger – The Great Big Beast» (director: Gunhild Enger and Rune Spaans, producer: Ingunn Sundelin and Eric Vogel) 
  • «Sisters: The Summer We Found Our Superpowers» (director: Silje Salomonsen and Arild Østin Ommundsen, producer: Gary Cranner) 

Best Documentary 

  • «Generation Utoya» (director: Aslaug Holm, Sigve Endresen, producer: Tore Buvarp) 
  • «The Painter and the Thief» (director: Benjamin Ree, producer: Ingvil Giske) 
  • «Odelsgut og fantefølge» (director: Merethe Offerdal Tveit, producer: Kristine Ann Skaret) 

Best Screenplay 

  • Benjamin Ree and Robert Stengård for «The Painter and the Thief» 
  • Itonje Søimer Guttormsen for «Gritt» 
  • Johan Fasting, co-writers; Yngvild Sve Flikke and Inga H. Sætre for «Ninjababy» 

Best Foreign Language Film 

  • «Another Round» (director: Thomas Vinterberg, distributor: Arthaus) 
  • «The Father» (director: Florian Zeller, distributor: Storytelling Media) 
  • «Promising Young Woman» (director: Emerald Fennell, distributor: United International Pictures) 

Best Short Film 

  • «Greetings from Myanmar» (directed and produced by: Sunniva Sundby and Andreas J. Riiser) 
  • «Sju Mil» (directed and produced by: Eilif Bremer Landsend) 
  • «What is a Woman» (directed and produced by: Marin Håskjold) 

Best Original Score 

  • Johan Söderqvist for «Betrayed» 
  • Kåre Chr. Vestrheim for «Ninjababy» 
  • Thomas Dybdahl for «Sisters: The Summer We Found Our Superpowers» 

Best Production Design 

  • Nina Buer Brun, Marianne Stranger and Ann Kristin Talleraas for «Gritt» 
  • Olve Askim for «Two Buddies and a Badger – The Great Big Beast» 
  • Ulrika Axén and Tobias Eiving for «Betrayed» 

Best Sound Design 

  • Alexander Dudarev for «Gunda» 
  • Erik Ljunggren for «Gritt» 
  • Hugo Ekornesand Gisle Tveito for «Ninjababy» 

Best Make-up 

  • Grethe Gunn Solberg Hansen for «Diana’s Wedding»  
  • Maria Bjørnnes Hermansen and Fie Baro for «Prosjekt Z» 
  • Sara Klänge for «Betrayed» 

Best Cinematography 

  • Egil Håskjold Larsen and Victor Kossakovsky for «Gunda»  
  • Marianne Bakke for «Ninjababy»   
  • Patrik Säfström and Egil Håskjold Larsen for «Gritt» 

Best Visual Effects 

  • Dennis Kleyn and Peer Lemmers for «Dragon Girl»   
  • Inga H. Sætre for «Ninjababy»  
  • Lars Erik Hansen for «Betrayed» 

Beste Editing 

  • Christian Siebenherz and Elise Solberg for «Betrayed» 
  • Karen Gravås for «Ninjababy»  
  • Robert Stengård for «The Painter and the Thief» 

Best Costume 

  • Anne Pedersen for «Betrayed» 
  • Ida Toft for «Diana’s Wedding» 
  • Ingjerd Meland, Marianne Stranger, Itonje Søimer Guttormsen, Birgitte Larsen and Nina Buer Brun for «Gritt» 


You can read more about the Amanda Award here.