Here are the 2017 Amanda winners

19. August 2017

The King’s Choice became the evening’s big winner with 8 prizes in the categories of Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release, Best Actor in a Supporting Role, Best Screenplay, Best Art Direction/Scenography, Best Visual Effects, Best Music, Best Editing and Best Sound Design.     

Kristoffer Joner won Best Actor for Handle with Care, his third Amanda. Ruby Dagnall won Best Actress for her debut role in Rosemari.

The award for Best Director went to Izer Aliu with Hunting Flies – the director’s second Amanda. Øystein Mamen received his first Amanda with Best Cinematography for The Rules for Everything, and Sarah Francesca Brænne was awarded the prize for Best Actress in a Supporting Role in the same film. Rasmus A. Sivertsen’s In the Forest of Huckybucky was named Best Children’s Film.  Sivertsen has also received the same award for two of his earlier films.

The Amanda Committee’s Golden Clapper went to editor Inge-Lise Langfeldt, and The Amanda Committee Honorary Award went to producer Axel Helgeland.

The public voted Marcus & Martinus – Together, directed by Daniel Fahre to be the winner of The People’s Amanda.


The Norwegian International Film Festival and the Amanda Committee are proud to present this year’s Amanda winners:

Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release
The King’s Choice – Produced by Finn Gjerdrum and Stein B. Kvae for Paradox, directed by Erik Poppe

Best Children’s Film
In the Forest of Huckybucky – Produced by Ove Heiborg, Elisabeth Opdal and Eirik Smidesang Slåen for Qvisten Animasjon, directed by Rasmus A. Sivertsen

Best Director
Izer Aliu – Hunting Flies 

Best Actress
Ruby Dagnall – Rosemari

Best Actor
Kristoffer Joner – Handle with Care

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Sarah Francesca Brænne – The Rules for Everything

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Karl Markovics – The King’s Choice

Best Screenplay
Harald Rosenløw Eeg and Jan Trygve Røyneland – The King’s Choice

Best Cinematography
Øystein Mamen – The Rules for Everything

Best Art Direction/Scenography
Peter Bävman – The King’s Choice

Best Visual Effects
Arne Kaupang – The King’s Choice

Best Music
Johan Söderqvist – The King’s Choice

Best Editing
Einar Egeland – The King’s Choice

Best Sound Design
Christian Schaanning – The King’s Choice

Best Short Film
My Sister – directed by Liv Joelle Barbosa Blad, produced by Nina Maria Barbosa Blad for Barbosa Blad Film

Best Documentary
Nowhere to Hide – directed by Zaradasht Ahmed, produced by Mette Cheng Munthe-Kaas for Ten Thousand Images

Best Foreign Film in Theatrical Release
Manchester by the Sea – directed by Kenneth Lonergan, distributed by United International Pictures

The Amanda Committee’s Golden Clapper
Inge-Lise Langfeldt

The People’s Amanda
Marcus & Martinus – Together – produced by Silje Buraas and Tom Marius Kittilsen for Fenomen TV Film & Scene, directed by Daniel Fahre

The Amanda Committee Honorary Award
Axel Helgeland