Bjørn Sundquist and Pia Tjelta on the Walk of Fame

19. August 2017

Actors Pia Tjelta (39) and Bjørn Sundquist (69) were today honored with Amanda stones in Haugesund’s Walk of Fame. The eviction is part of the 45th Norwegian Film Festival in Haugesund.

With the election of Bjørn Sundquist and Pia Tjelta, this year’s Walk of Fame Committee honors two actors who have helped shape the Norwegian film landscape, and which have also had a significant impact on television and theater.

With the stones now unveiled in Haraldsgaten, Pia Tjelta and Bjørn Sunquist are in good company with Kristoffer Joner, Ane Dahl Torp, Liv Ullmann and Jakob Oftebro in Haugesund’s Walk of Fame.

Photo: Jan Kåre Ness

Photo: Jan Kåre Ness

About the actors and Walk of Fame

Pia Tjelta
Pia Tjelta’s first feature film came in 2001 with Arild Østin Ommundsen’s romantic comedy Mongoland, a film that marked the start of the so-called Stavanger Wave. Since then she has had a number of prominent roles, on the big screen, the TV screen, the stage and radio. Two years after her feature film debut she had one of the leading roles in Morten Tyldum’s Buddy, which won the Amanda Award for Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release in 2004. In 2007 Tjelta received an Amanda Award nomination for Best Actress in Eva Dahr’s romantic comedy Mars & Venus. In 2013 she was nominated for her supporting role in Eva Sørhaug’s 90 Minutes, a film about abusers and their victims.

Pia Tjelta has also played in several TV series, including a leading role in the TVNorge comedy series Neste sommer (“Next Summer”). On the big screen she will eventually be seen in Arild Østin Ommundsen’s Now It`s Dark. Tjelta also has an international career behind her, with a role in the continuation of the Swedish TV success about the investigator Martin Beck. Earlier this year she got a permanent position at Nationaltheatret, closing the circuit since she once came to movies from a theatre company.

Bjørn Sundquist
Bjørn Sundquist is doubtless one of the grand old men of Norwegian cinema and a clear favourite of directors and audiences. Sundquist made his big screen debut in Pål Bang-Hansen’s controversial The Crown Prince from 1979, about a young talent of the labour movement who gets his career ruined by connections to American intelligence. Sundquist’s efforts in this film won him the Norwegian Film Critics Award.

Since then there have been numerous roles , also in theatre, TV and radio.  With his four Best Actor Amanda Awards Sundquist is the most-winning in that category. His first Amanda came in 1987 for Bente Erichsen’s Over grensen (“Across the Border”) – a harrowing escape drama during World War II. In 1996 it was Berit Nesheim’s The Other Side of Sunday that got Sundquist up on the stage to receive the prize for his role as a priest and a father on a collision course with his own daughter. Then he renewed his acquaintance with Amanda in 2000. This time he got both the Amanda Committee Honorary Award and a Best Actor for Karin Fossum’s police investigator in the NRK TV series Sejer – se deg ikke tilbake “Sejer – Don’t Look Back”). This role also landed him the television award Gullruten. Most recently Sundquist won his fifth Amanda (counting the Honorary Award) in 2015 for Gunnar Vikene’s comedy Here Is Harold. Sundquist also received Amanda nominations for his leading roles in Unni Straume’s Thrane’s Method (1998) and Pål Jackman’s Jernanger (2009).

About the Walk of Fame
Haugesund got its own Walk of Fame in 2015 when the actors Kristoffer Joner and Ane Dahl Torp were the first to have their names chiselled into the granite at the street of Haraldsgaten. Last year the festival’s Honorary President Liv Ullmann and the new star Jakob Oftebro were honoured.

A committee consisting of four member deliver annual nominations for the Walk of Fame. The members of this year’s committee were : Committee President and CEO of Haugesund sentrum Odd Fossan-Waage jr., the Mayor of Haugesund Arne-Christian Mohn, Festival Director Tonje Hardersen, and Section Leader at the high school of Haugaland, Gro Helen Preston. The first three members have permanent positions while Preston was selected for the current year.