Awards presented at The 45 Norwegian International Film Festival

24. August 2017

Tonight everything was ready for the awards ceremony during the closing of The 45th Norwegian Film Festival in Haugesund. Joachim Trier’s “Thelma” received the Norwegian Film Critics Award and Ole Giæver won the Best Project Award for the project “My Wife, My Replica and I“.

This year’s award winners are:


The Norwegian Film Critics Award

The Norwegian Film Critics Award in Haugesund went to Thelma, directed by Joachim Trier and distributed by SF Studios. The jury describes the film as an extraordinary and ambitious work with a basic idea that most of us will recognise ourselves in.

The winner is an original and gripping genre movie that is very conscious of its film-historical roots. As a contribution to the traditions of its genre, it excels in its deep resonance and distinctly Scandinavian motifs and symbolism, the jury statement says.

The Critics Award consists of an etching by Ingrid Lilja Arntzen with the title ”Stay With Me” (“Bli hos meg”). The jury is appointed by the Norwegian Film Critics Association and consisted of Mode Steinkjer from the newspaper Dagsavisen, Birger Vestmo from Filmpolitiet at the TV channel NRK, and Lars Ole Kristiansen from the film website Montages.


The Audience Award

The Award went to the German drama comedy Bye Bye Germany, directed by Sam Garbarski and distributed by Storytelling Media. In the statement the jury, among other things, says that the film tells a devastatingly sad story with great warmth, compassion and charm.

– While remaining squarely in its own period, it inevitably draws comparison to similar current events, affirming that we must never stop learning from the past.

The Audience Award consists of a work of art by graphic artist Ivar Rudi, which is given by the Norwegian International Film Festival. The film is awarded by an audience jury appointed by TV Haugaland. This year’s jury consisted of Bjørn Helge Nesheim, Tonje Lütcherath Olsen, Jan Tore Roth, Bjørg-Else Skjoldevik and Olaug E. H. Mortensen.


The Andreas Award

The Andreas Award, the ecumenical film prize, went to the German-Hungarian film  Jupiter’s Moon, directed by Kornél Mundruczó and distributed by Tour de Force. The jury describes the film as an original, ambitious and existential work.

– With the European refugee crisis as a gloomy and realistic backdrop, it tells a formally powerful and many-faceted story of one human being’s encounter with a miracle. […] The film is exploring guilt and sacrifice, and the biblical undertones are many in a story that gradually and with innumerable nuances lets a miracle have an effect on the protagonist’s life, the jury says in its statement.

The jury for the Andreas Award, named after the film critic, theologian and pedagogue  Andreas Borch Sandsdalen, consisted of Bishop Erling J. Pettersen, Cinema Manager Eli Røthe, film critic Kristin Aalen and  arts editor of the newspaper Vårt Land, Alf Kjetil Walgermo, who also served as the Jury president. The award is a copperplate print by Eli Hovdenak.


The Ray of Sunshine

The statuette Ray of Sunshine went to the American film The Big Sick, directed by Michael Showalter and distributed by Norsk Filmdistribusjon. The jury describes The Big Sick as a warm-hearted film that manages to fill us with enthusiasm and move us on many levels, a film with great humour and energy.

Here human dignity is at the centre and the film sheds light on issues that are more important than ever. Through a charming and relaxed style it reminds us about our everyday xenophobia and ignorance towards cultures different from our own,  the jury says.

The Award is a statuette made by Fritz Røed, given by the bank DNB. The jury is appointed by the Norwegian Cinema Managers Association and consisted of Jury President Christin Berg from Nordisk Film Kino Oslo, Hanne Jacobsen from Bømlo kino and Ida Katrine Balto from Lakselv kino og  kultursal.



The award went to Beyond Dreams from Sweden, directed by Rojda Sekersöz, her first feature film.

This is a film that combines the raw energy of its juvenile heroine with the poignancy of Scandinavian social realism. It’s an engaging, well-acted coming-of-age story, the jury says in its statement.

The FIPRESCI Award is given to the best Nordic film , and is decided by a jury appointed by FIPRESCI, the international film critics association. The jury consisted of Cüneyt Cebenoyan, Kira Taszman and  Thor Joachim Haga.


Eurimages Lab Project Award

The award consists of 50,000 Euro. It went to the Swedish film Jimmie. directed by Jesper Ganslandt and produced by Jesper Kurlandsky, Hedvig Lundgren and Juan Libossart. The award is given by Eurimages to the most promising innovative film project presented as a work-in-progress.

– The jury was impressed by the footage proposed and the approach of the director to this original story. A child’s point of view on a journey to survive seems to this jury relevant and topical. This story screams to be told.

Honorary Mentions went to the films Alma and The Second Sex.


Next Nordic Generation Award

The award went to the Danish film Little Dancer, directed by Nils Holst-Jensen from the Danish Film School.

It is stylistically assured, seductive and unpleasant, combining several classical elements while at the same time managing to avoid the cliches that they so often entail, the jury says in its statement.

Honorary mentions went to the film  Land of Our Fathers and Schoolyard Blues.

Next Nordic Generation Award is given to the best film from the Nordic film schools. The award consists of NOK 10,000 and is given by SF Studios Norge. The jury consisted of film critic Jon Selås, director Eva Sørhaug and film critic Aleksander Huser.


Best Project Award

The award went to My Wife, My Replica and I. Director: Ole Giæver. Producer:  Maria Ekerhovd for the production company Mer Film.

Best Project Award is given to the best project in the Nordic Co-Production Market.


Scandinavian Debut Award

The award went to Library of God. Director:  Stian Hafstad. Producer: Ine Remme for the production company PistolShrimps.

An honorable mention was given to Ebba & the LoverDirector: Johanna Pyykkö, producer: Ruben Thorkildsen.

The award consists of NOK 60,000 and is given to a project in the Scandinavian Debut programme. The jury consisted of Stephen Locke, Kristine Knudsen and Martin Persson.


Nordic Script Pitch

The award for the best script presentation in this section went to the Danish War, What If by Puk Grasten. The winner receives a one week writing stay at the Barcelona apartment owned by the Writers’ Guild of Norway.