The Amanda Nominations 2018

The Amanda award is given in 20 different categories and the award ceremony will be broadcast on TV 2, Saturday 18 August. Actors Henriette Steenstrup and John Brungot are hosting the show. The Amanda award ceremony is produced by Rubicon TV and is part of The Norwegian International Film Festival which takes place 18–24 August 2018. The films considered have had theatrical release in Norwegian cinemas during the period of 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2018. The nominations were announced on 20 June, 2018.


The Norwegian International Film Festival and the Amanda Committee are proud to present this year’s nominations:

Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release
What Will People Say – produced by Maria Ekerhovd for Mer Film, directed by Iram Haq
Thelma – produced by Thomas Robsahm for Motlys, directed by Joachim Trier
U – July 22
– produced by Finn Gjerdrum and Stein B. Kvae for Paradox, directed by Erik Poppe

Best Children’s Film
Anchors up – Boats to the Rescue – produced by Sigurd Slåttebrekk, directed by Simen Alsvik and Will Ashurst
Los Bando
– produced by Trine Aadalen Lo and Nicholas Sando, directed by Christian Lo
Twigson the Explorer
– produced by Finn Gjerdrum and Stein B. Kvae, directed by Andreas J. Riiser

Best Director
Iram Haq – What Will People Say
Joachim Trier – Thelma
Erik Poppe – U – July 22

Best Actress
Maria Mozhdah – What Will People Say
Eili Harboe – Thelma
Andrea Berntzen – U – July 22

Best Actor
Adil Hussain – What Will People Say
Henrik Rafaelsen – Thelma
Leon Bashir – The Regulars

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Anne Marit Jacobsen – Opportunity Knocks
Kaya Wilkins – Thelma
Solveig Koløen Birkeland – U – July 22

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Ingar Helge Gimle – Going West
Reidar Wayne Ewing – Now It’s Dark
Kim Sørensen – The Regulars

Best Screenplay
Siv Rajendram Eliassen and Anna Bache-Wiig – U – July 22
Eskil Vogt and Joachim Trier – Thelma
Iram Haq – What Will People Say

Best Cinematography
Jakob Ihre – Thelma      
Martin Otterbeck – U – July 22
Marius Matzow Gulbrandsen – Valley of Shadows

Best Art Directon/Scenography
Astrid Sætren and Sebastian Ekeberg – The Monkey and the Mouth
Roger Rosenberg – Thelma
Mikael Varhelyi – The 12th Man

Best Visual Effects
Lars Erik Hansen (Gimpville), Morten Jacobsen (Storm Studios), Alexander Kadim (VARG Studios) and Arne Kaupang – The 12th Man
Esben Syberg (Ghost VFX) – Thelma
Torgeir Busch (Storyline Studios) – The Monkey and the Mouth

Best Music
Ola Fløttum – Thelma
Thomas Dybdahl – Now It’s Dark
Chirag Rashmikant Patel, Magdi Ytreeide Abdelmaguid and Thomas Kongshavn – The Monkey and the Mouth

Best Editing
Olivier Bugge Coutté – Thelma
Jonas Aarø and Thomas Trælnes – The Monkey and the Mouth
Janus Billeskov Jansen and Anne Østerud – What Will People Say

Best Sound Design
Gisle Tveito – Thelma
Gisle Tveito – U – July 22
Christian Schaanning – The 12th Man

Best Short Film
Bog Hole – directed by Torfinn Iversen, produced by Julia Andersen for EdelZek
No Man is an Island –
directed by and produced by Ali Parandian for Anicca Pictures
Odd Is an Egg –
directed by and produced by Kristin Ulseth for Qvisten Animation AS

Best Documentary
Per Fugelli – I Die – directed by Erik Poppe, produced by Finn Gjerdrum and Stein B. Kvae for Paradox
My Heart Belongs to Daddy –
directed by Sofia Haugan, produced by Carsten Aanonsen for Indie Film
Bjarne Hates the Camera –
directed by and produced by Weronica Nitsch

Best Foreign Film in Theatrical Release
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – directed by Martin McDonagh, distributed by Twentieth Century Fox
The Shape of Water
– directed by Guillermo del Toro, distributed by Twentieth Century Fox
Call Me By Your Name
– directed by Luca Guadagnino, distributed by United International Pictures
The Florida Project – directed by Sean Baker, distributed by Norsk Filmdistribusjon
Loving Vincent –
directed by Dorota Kobiela and Hugh Welchman, distributed by Selmer Media

Furthermore, the Amanda Committee’s Golden Clapper and the Amanda Committee Honorary Award will be presented. A total of 20 prizes are to be awarded.

The 2018 Amanda juries:

The Amanda Jury
Ingvild Holthe Bygdnes, actress
Steven Elvesæter, VFX supervisor
Lars Fuglevik, head of programming
Gunn Tove Grønsberg, sound designer
Hanne Hagerup, screenwriter
Kate Havnevik, film music composer
Are Heidenstrøm, producer
Espen Klouman Høiner, actor
Johan Kaos, director
Kristine Knudsen, producer
Solveig Melkeraaen, director
Ingrid Mæhre, editor
Thor Aarrestad, cinematographer

Jury for Best Foreign Film in Theatrical Release
Hanne Jacobsen, Bømlo Cinema
Geir Hammerø, Molde Cinema
Øystein Simonsen, Tysvær Cinema
Kristin Kildal, Rana Cinema
Stein Sørensen, Bergen Cinema

About the Amanda Award

The national film award Amanda has been established to enhance the quality and promotion of Norwegian films in theatrical release and short films intended for public screenings. It was awarded for the first time in 1985. The prize consists of a statue in bronze designed by sculptor Kristian Kvakland, as well as a diploma. Amanda is hosted by The Norwegian International Film Festival Ltd. in collaboration with the Amanda Committee.