The Amanda Awards 2018

The winners of the Amanda prize was announced at the award ceremony on 18 August 2018.

The Amanda TV show was directed by TV 2 and sent from Scandic Maritim Hall in Haugesund. The hosts for the show were Henriette Steenstrup and John Brungot.

The Norwegian International Film Festival and the Amanda Committee are proud to present the 2018 Amanda winners:

Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release
What Will People Say – Produced by Maria Ekerhovd for Mer Film, directed by Iram Haq

Best Children’s Film
Anchors Up – Boats to the Rescue – Produced by Sigurd Slåttebrekk for Animando, directed by Simen Alsvik and Will Ashurst

Best Director
Iram Haq – What Will People Say

Best Actress
Andrea Berntzen – U – July 22

Best Actor
Adil Hussain – What Will People Say

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Solveig Koløen Birkeland – U – July 22

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Ingar Helge Gimle – Going West

Best Screenplay
Iram Haq – What Will People Say

Best Cinematography
Jakob Ihre – Thelma

Best Art Direction/scenography
Sebastian Ekeberg and Astrid Maria Sætren – The Monkey and the Mouth

Best visual effects
Lars Erik Hansen (Gimpville), Morten Jacobsen (Storm Studios), Alexander Kadim (VARG Studios) and Arne Kaupang – The 12th man

Best Music
Ola Fløttum – Thelma

Best Editing
Olivier Bugge Coutté – Thelma

Best Sound Design
Christian Schaanning – The 12th Man

Best Short Film
No Man Is an Island – directed by and produced by Ali Parandian for Anicca Pictures

Best documentary
My Heart Belongs to Daddy – produced by Carsten Aanonsen for Indie Film, directed by Sofia Haugan

Best Foreign Film in Theatrical Release
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – directed by Martin McDonagh, distributed by Twentieth Century Fox Norway

The People’s Amanda
The 12th Man – Produced by Aage Aaberge (Nordisk Film Production), Espen Horn (Motion Blur), Veslemøy Ruud Zwart (Zwart Arbeid), directed by Harald Zwart

The Amanda Committee’s Golden Clapper
Veslemøy Fosse Ree

The Amanda Committee Honorary Award
Lars Saabye Christensen