The Amanda award ceremony is arranged annually in August as a part of The Norwegian International Film Festival in Haugesund. The award ceremony will be broadcasted on TV 2 from the Scandic Maritim Hall.

The Amanda film award has been established to enhance the quality and promotion of Norwegian cinema films and short films intended for theatrical release.

The award consists of a statue in bronze designed by sculptor Kristian Kvakland, as well as a diploma. Amanda is hosted by The Norwegian International Film Festival in collaboration with the Norwegian Film Institute.

The Amanda award ceremony concludes the 2016/2017 film year. The films considered have had theatrical release in Norwegian cinemas during the period of 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2017.

The award ceremony will be broadcasted on TV 2 and is produced by Rubicon TV.

The Amanda Committee
The work with the Amanda award is chaired by a separate committee, the Amanda committee, appointed by the board of The Norwegian International Film Festival.

Members of the Amanda Committee:
Tonje Hardersen (leader)
Sindre Guldvog (The Norwegian Film Institute)
Inger Warendorph (Norwegian Film Distributors’ Association)
Torbjørn Urfjell (Norwegian Film and TV Producers Association)
Marianne Kleven (Norwegian Film Directors)
Sverre Pedersen (Norwegian Film Workers Association)
Arild Kalkvik (Norwegian Cinema Managers Association)
Monica Boracco (Writers’ Guild of Norway)
Knut Alfsen (Norwegian Actors’ Equity Association)
Kari Hansmark (TV 2)
Mads Rogde (Rubicon)

The Amanda Award 2017 is given in the following categories:
•Best Norwegian Film  (Theatrical Release)
•Best Director (Theatrical Release)
•Best Actress in a Leading Role
•Best Actor in a Leading Role
•Best Actress in a Supporting Role
•Best Actor in a Supporting Role
•Best Children’s Film
•Best Writing
•Best Cinematography
•Best Sound
•Best Original Score
•Best Film Editing
•Best Scenography
•Best Visual Effects
•Best Short Film
•Best Documentary Film
•Best Foreign Film (Theatrical Release)
•The Amanda Committee’s Golden Clapper
•The Amanda Committee Honorary Award
•The People’s Amanda (audience vote)

The Amanda Statue by sculptor Kristian Kvakland has since 1985 been produced by Olaussen’s Metal in Haugesund. The Golden Clapper is designed by sculptor Nils Aas.

This year’s Amanda nominations will be announced in June at a press conference.

For further information about the Norwegian Amanda award, please contact the leader of the Amanda committee:

Tonje Hardersen
Mobile: +47 928 30 559